Advisory Council

The Community Education Advisory Council (CEAC) helps Community Education staff determine the needs of the community. The Council advises in areas of budget, programming, marketing, and services. Consisting of representatives from Eastern Carver County cities and schools, the committee meets monthly, ten times per year.

Purpose of Community Education Advisory Councils:

  • Determine the needs of people in the community
  • Advise professional staff in planning programs and services by Community Education for the Community
  • Assist/advise in budget development
  • Encourage cooperation with community agencies so that needs can be fully met with the least amount of duplication
  • Serve as forums for discussion of community issues and concerns

Serve as communication linkage between the School Board and the community.

Meetings are held virtually, 3:30-4:45 PM
October 28, December 16, February 17, March 17, May 19


Sue Harberts
Director of Community Education
(952) 556-6211

2021/2022 Advisory Council Members


Elizabeth Harner, SW Metro District

Vice Chair:

Deepshika Ramasamy Balajee, Student


Tena Ahlness, Community Member

Sharon Edison, Community Member

Douglas English, Community Member

Angela Erickson, ECCS School Board

Jon Grau, Chaska City Council

Beth Holm, Bluff Creek Elementary Principal

Holly Kaufhold, Victoria Park & Rec

Cecilia Laube, Inclusive Communities Coalition Carver County

Darren Noble, SW Metro Chamber

Al Norby, Love Inc.

Jessica Rochen, Carver County Library

Community Education Staff:

Michele Bedor, Early Childhood Supervisor

Sue Harberts, Community Education Director

Lori Kendall, Communications Manager

Melissa Hansen, Marketing/Communication Specialist